INGenWeb Project logo

Hendricks County, Indiana
Part of The USGenWeb Project

USGenWeb Project logo







Meredith Thompson

Biographies Birth Records Cemetery Records Census Records Church Records Civil Court
College Records Criminal Court
Death Records Directories Divorce Records Family Histories
& Reunions
Indenture Records Land Records Livestock Records Maps Marriage Records Military Records
Naturalization Records Obituaries Plat Maps Photos Probate Records School Records
Tax Records Voter Records  

Congressional Townships in Hendricks County Explained

by Meredith Thompson

Most (but not all) of the land in Indiana is measured from a point in Orange County in southern Indiana. The Congressional township lines are measured going north from that point. So Hendricks County land is in Township 14 North, Township 15 North, Township 16 North and Township 17 North.

The 2nd Principal Meridian line runs north-south and Ranges are measured going east or west from that point. So Hendricks County land is in Range 2 West, Range 1 West, Range 1 East and Range 2 East.

In a Congressional township, there are 36 sections (each 1 mile square). The numbering of the sections starts with 1, in the northeast corner of the Congressional township, and then snakes back and forth until it ends with 36, in the southeast corner of the Congressional township.

NOTE: Congressional townships do NOT correspond exactly to civil townships. Civil townships are named by local government (e.g. Guilford Township). A civil township may contain portions of several Congressional townships.

Township dividing lines in Hendricks County:

Range dividing lines in Hendricks County: